<
 
 
 
 
×
>
hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of Ethereum Foundation using Archive-It. This page was captured on 04:55:09 Jun 20, 2021 , and is part of the Community collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

GPU Mining is out, come and let us know of your bench scores!

1131416181947

Comments

  • Marvell9Marvell9 Member Posts: 593 ✭✭✭
    Vaudreuil said:

    Amph said:

    someone has tried the 980ti on eth, what is the hash?

    The 980ti is probably the worst bang-for-the-buck out there.

    I'm currently running 3 rigs:
    1- 2x Asus Strix 970s - average about 32 Mhs (according to Dwarfpool)

    2- 1 EVGA 980 Classified +
    1 Asus Strix 980ti - together average 37/38 Mhs

    3- 2x Gigabyte 970s - average about 32 Mhs.

    But when I split the 980s I get
    980 Classified - 20 Mhs
    980ti - 17 Mhs

    So the 980 ti is only marginally better than a 970.

    Of course this is only when mining - point the 980s at Hashcat and it's a very different story. B)
    That looks very low for 970s man , I get over 20mhs on my 970s close to 22 at the pool
    sometimes , what OS are you using and are you ocverclocking the 970s ? you have to over clock them to get to proper hash rates same with the 980s. even with the OOC they only use 10 more watts from 145 to 155.

  • Marvell9Marvell9 Member Posts: 593 ✭✭✭
    got some used 970 cards mated to a 1200watt Platinum PSU (I only use platinum PSUS for mining)
    8GB ram
    Dual core Pentium 1150 54 watt cpu ( need to upgrade this for CUDA I think)

    WIndows 7 Ultimate with Aero turned off driver version 362

    all cards overclocked to their max power state around 3505 mem and 1504 clock

    **seems to be a big difference between the FW and SC EVGA cards
    the two SC EVGAs cannot even get to their specified clock the clocks sit at 1380 ish
    I looked at the specs and it looks like the FTW cards are way faster clocked to 1389 or so vs 1200 of the SC funny that the cards all cost me the same. ($280 usd used)

    1 EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB SC GAMING ACX 2.0, 26% Cooler and 36% Quieter Cooling -18.5 mhs
    1 EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB SC GAMING ACX 2.0, 26% Cooler and 36% Quieter Cooling - 19 mhs
    1 EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 2.0, 26% Cooler and 36% Quieter - 22 mhs
    1 MSI GTX 970 4GD5T OC Graphics Cards GTX 970 4GD5T OC - 20.9 mhs

    total of the rig is 80.4 mhs seen it as high as 120 at the pool !?

    the one issue is sometimes the machine bogs down due to high CPU usage in windows 10.

    Total power usage is 720 watts from the metered PDU ( 3 AMPS) so that's around 155 watt per card which is expected.

  • diluxdilux Member Posts: 22
    i have an VTX3D Radeon R9 380 - 4GB at stock (core: 970 mem 5700) and it only gets 18 - 19 MH/s :(
  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    dilux said:

    i have an VTX3D Radeon R9 380 - 4GB at stock (core: 970 mem 5700) and it only gets 18 - 19 MH/s :(

    Clock to 1100/6000
  • zorvalthzorvalth Member Posts: 174
    dilux said:

    i have an VTX3D Radeon R9 380 - 4GB at stock (core: 970 mem 5700) and it only gets 18 - 19 MH/s :(

    its probably elpida memory. Samsung memory gets 1-1.5 more mh/s on the same clocks.
  • diluxdilux Member Posts: 22
    clock to 990 / 1600 gives about 20MH/s
    will try increasing.
    good thing is that the system as a whole (2 gpu's) only pulls about 390 watts

    i remember that back in the day when mining litecoin just a single card would pull 300watts at its own :worried:
  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    Any of stock R9 380 must go easy to 1100 GPU clock, just look for temp.
    dilux said:


    i remember that back in the day when mining litecoin just a single card would pull 300watts at its own :worried:

    Pull down GPU voltage from 1.2 V to 1.0 V - and you pull down power consumption by 30%.
  • happytreefriendshappytreefriends Member Posts: 537 ✭✭✭
    Jukebox said:

    Any of stock R9 380 must go easy to 1100 GPU clock, just look for temp.

    dilux said:


    i remember that back in the day when mining litecoin just a single card would pull 300watts at its own :worried:

    Pull down GPU voltage from 1.2 V to 1.0 V - and you pull down power consumption by 30%.
    At overclocked speeds, it probably won't run reliably..

  • VaudreuilVaudreuil Member Posts: 15


    That looks very low for 970s man , I get over 20mhs on my 970s close to 22 at the pool
    sometimes , what OS are you using and are you ocverclocking the 970s ? you have to over clock them to get to proper hash rates same with the 980s. even with the OOC they only use 10 more watts from 145 to 155.



    The os is Ubuntu 15.10 on all rigs.
    Rather than overclock I undervolt all cards as much as possible.
    I find that at stock voltage there is very little gain in hashrate; with the underclock I get a big drop in temperatures.






    It is very rare that one of my cards goes over 55c.

    I've had the 980ti running flat out at 22c on occasion.
    That rig sits on the window sill; the window is open; it is winter; I live in Canada.
    r1.png 61.4K
    r2.png 44.1K
    r3.png 43.9K
  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    edited March 2016

    Jukebox said:

    Any of stock R9 380 must go easy to 1100 GPU clock, just look for temp.

    dilux said:


    i remember that back in the day when mining litecoin just a single card would pull 300watts at its own :worried:

    Pull down GPU voltage from 1.2 V to 1.0 V - and you pull down power consumption by 30%.
    At overclocked speeds, it probably won't run reliably..

    From&to was said only for explanation. Exact voltage is individual, in most cases 1.1 Vcore enough to mine @ 1100. Stock GPU voltage is at least 1.13 V and higher up to 1.256V
  • diluxdilux Member Posts: 22
    how do i decrease the voltage?
    with aticonfig?
  • diluxdilux Member Posts: 22
    edited March 2016
    as for my gtx970, i have set coolbits and rebpooted and in powermizer i put 160/250 (for level 3) but it always stays on level 2?
    current hashrate about 17-18MHs so i think it is not actually oc''ing

    ok, it seems that the added offset for gpu works but fr mem nothing increases...??
    Post edited by dilux on
  • AktarusAktarus Planet EarthMember Posts: 15
    Windows / 7 64-bit / R9 295X2 /ethminer 1.1.3
    min / mean / max: 25.76/25.91/25.99
    Inner mean: 25.96 MH

    This is the result when ethminer is running the benchmark on 1 GPU. Since the R9 295X2 has 2 GPU, we can multiply the result by 2, that is a total of 51.92 MH/s. That's really a good and the card heats only at 59°C. I love this card!

    The numbers seem quite realistic. I am mining since 2 weeks at ethpool.org and I roughly get 48-49 MH/s reported by the pool.
  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    dilux said:

    how do i decrease the voltage?
    with aticonfig?

    Some cards can be controlled with MSI Afterburner, Sapphire STRIXX etc.

    If your card have locked Vcore, the only way to downvolt - video BIOS editing.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/vbe7-vbios-editor-for-radeon-hd-7000-series-cards.189089/
  • diluxdilux Member Posts: 22
    edited March 2016
    some interesting discovery, if i underclock the gpu to 900 and overclock mem to 1600 i get the same results as stock but much cooler runnings.. which is good because even at stock the machine crashes after an hour or 2
  • lifesAnOceanlifesAnOcean Member Posts: 8

    The os is Ubuntu 15.10 on all rigs.
    Rather than overclock I undervolt all cards as much as possible.
    I find that at stock voltage there is very little gain in hashrate; with the underclock I get a big drop in temperatures.
    How are you undervolting the 970/980's on Ubuntu 15.10? I'm not seeting nvclock install available on 15.10.

  • MurzMurz Member Posts: 18
    edited March 2016
    2x Sapphire R9 290X (ref)
    2x Sapphire R9 280

    100-103 MH

    290Xs are pushed to 1150 core 1500 mem (these seem to running in the 28-30 MH range)
    280s are 1050 core 1500 mem (20-22 MH range)

    No undervolting yet, 1030-1050 watts at the wall

    Open air rig in a cold basement 67-70C for the 290Xs, 47-50C for the 280s

  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    dilux said:

    some interesting discovery, if i underclock the gpu to 900 and overclock mem to 1600 i get the same results as stock but much cooler runnings.. which is good because even at stock the machine crashes after an hour or 2

    Scrypt coins have same tricks. My 7970's @ 915/[email protected] Vgpu=650 kHash & 150 W consumtion.
  • VaudreuilVaudreuil Member Posts: 15


    The os is Ubuntu 15.10 on all rigs.
    Rather than overclock I undervolt all cards as much as possible.
    I find that at stock voltage there is very little gain in hashrate; with the underclock I get a big drop in temperatures.
    How are you undervolting the 970/980's on Ubuntu 15.10? I'm not seeting nvclock install available on 15.10.



    Use nvidia-smi.
    sudo nvidia-smi -pl nnn - sets the power level in watts to n
    If the level is out of range the max or min setting is returned and no action is applied, so it is fairly safe.

    Does lots of other good stuff too - see nvidia-smi -h
    nvidia-smi -l continuously monitors the cards.

  • lifesAnOceanlifesAnOcean Member Posts: 8


    Use nvidia-smi.
    sudo nvidia-smi -pl nnn - sets the power level in watts to n
    If the level is out of range the max or min setting is returned and no action is applied, so it is fairly safe.

    Does lots of other good stuff too - see nvidia-smi -h
    nvidia-smi -l continuously monitors the cards.

    Awesome, thanks! I'l try this out and see how it effects my MH rate.

  • dittoditto Member Posts: 139 ✭✭
    Does overclocking GPUs improve mining performance?
  • happytreefriendshappytreefriends Member Posts: 537 ✭✭✭
  • axou64axou64 Member Posts: 21
    Has someone a msi r9 380 4go?? How many mh/s can it produce?? Is it a good invest??
  • happytreefriendshappytreefriends Member Posts: 537 ✭✭✭
    axou64 said:

    Has someone a msi r9 380 4go?? How many mh/s can it produce?? Is it a good invest??

    Seriously, try to read the thread for God's sake.. Or ANYWHERE in the mining section.
  • Rich2016Rich2016 Member Posts: 132
    How many gpu's can hold on this MOBO 4 or 6? I'am wondering if the other 2 slots can be used. I know the 1x can be used.
    970a-g46 msi
    https://www.msi.com/product/motherboard/970A-G46.html#hero-overview
  • LogicaluserLogicaluser Member Posts: 214 ✭✭
    @Rich2016

    The board has two PCI-E x16, and two PCI-E x1, so 4 cards is the theoretical maximum.
    (the other two slots are legacy PCI, useless)
  • Rich2016Rich2016 Member Posts: 132

    @Rich2016

    The board has two PCI-E x16, and two PCI-E x1, so 4 cards is the theoretical maximum.
    (the other two slots are legacy PCI, useless)

    ok thx for the information man I really appreciate it.
    I taught I saw a vid with them plugged into those slots but it was not fully clear and I didn't get the name of the board. If I find the vid I will post it hear.
    Thx
  • ImAMiner?ImAMiner? Member Posts: 208 ✭✭
  • dittoditto Member Posts: 139 ✭✭
    Is it worth overclocking your GPU? I don't do it often so I would like to get an idea on how much of an improvement I might get in MH - a ball park idea would be great.
  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    ditto said:

    Is it worth overclocking your GPU? I don't do it often so I would like to get an idea on how much of an improvement I might get in MH - a ball park idea would be great.

    Yes. How much - depends of your card: VBIOS and RAM vendor. Hynix memory is better.
Sign In or Register to comment.