<
 
 
 
 
×
>
hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of Ethereum Foundation using Archive-It. This page was captured on 17:42:17 Jun 24, 2021 , and is part of the Community collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

GPU Mining Software - NVIDIA/AMD?

ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
edited April 2015 in Mining
Anyone know the status of the GPU mining software?

Can't seem to find anything on Github / geth.

Would be willing to test for anyone working on it.

- CJ
Post edited by ConradJohnson on
«1345678

Comments

  • GeorgeHallamGeorgeHallam Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 229 admin
    edited April 2015
    As far as I'm aware, its OpenCL based and ready to go! -

    This means that theoretically both manufacturers (Nvidia/AMD) should be equally capable at hashing. In practice however one will have slightly better support for OpenCL than the other.

    Should be able to find it here: https://github.com/ethereum/ethash
    Post edited by GeorgeHallam on
  • ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
    Roger that. This must have happened while I was out of town. Any ideas on the command set to assign GPUs? The wiki is pretty lacking on how to operate - https://github.com/ethereum/ethash/wiki

  • GeorgeHallamGeorgeHallam Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 229 admin
    Sure - never fear, the documentation is coming!
  • ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
  • michaelaudouxmichaelaudoux Member Posts: 3
    @ Nvidia/AMD even on PC Windows?
  • GeorgeHallamGeorgeHallam Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 229 admin
    edited April 2015
    Even on PC Windows. Marek is in Switzerland finishing off the Win64 client as we speak.

    Edit: Apologies, I had this confused with the CPP client and cannot confirm whether the miner will be on Windows at this point.

    More information on the miner to follow.
    Post edited by GeorgeHallam on
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited April 2015
    Yes I'm currently testing eth on Win64. Benchmarking 13.9MH/s on a GTX780 vs 500KH/s on 8-threaded Xeon E5-1620 @3.6Ghz
  • pedrosoftpedrosoft Member Posts: 17
    hi @Genoil could we have a screnshoot ?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    Sure. I overclocked the GPU by 250Mhz to 1.3Ghz and managed to squeeze out 16.8Mh/s. Increase RAM speed didn't seem to have any effect.



    Nice, but any AMD R9 based card will beat this. Their OpenCL implementation is simply better.



  • ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
    @Genoil - Is this eth mining ? How'd you get it to run on the GPU instead of the CPU?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited April 2015
    @ConradJohnson - To be 100% specific, it's benchmarking eth mining. For various reasons I haven't gotten to actually GPU mine eth on the blockchain locally or on the testnet.

    The latest develop branch has support for GPU mining with -G command line option. For some reason that only worked in combination with the -M (benchmark) option. To force it into real blockchain GPU mining, I had to make a change in the source code. And then that for some obscure reason fails after having mined 2 blocks.

    --edit--

    the very very latest build now has a benchmark ranking built in:

    Benchmarking on platform: { "platform": "NVIDIA CUDA", "device": "GeForce GTX 78 0", "version": "OpenCL 1.1 CUDA" } Preparing DAG... *** [ 16:39:48 | main ] Spawning anon WaUsing platform: NVIDIA CUDA rming upUSING 0: GeForce GTX 780 (OpenCL 1.1 CUDA) ... Using device: GeForce GTX 780 (OpenCL 1.1 CUDA) Trial 1... 16951978 Trial 2... 16864597 Trial 3... 16864597 Trial 4... 16858977 Trial 5... 16864597 *** [ 16:40:09 | main ] Stopping anon *** [ 16:40:09 | anon ] Finishing up worker thread *** [ 16:40:09 | main ] Stopped anon min/mean/max: 16858977/16880949/16951978 H/s inner mean: 16862723 H/s Phoning home to find world ranking... Ranked: 10 of all benchmarks.

    I guess somebody has to do a CUDA port for me to rank any higher :)

    --edit--

    Found this: http://gav.ethdev.com:3000/

    63MH/s..I wonder if that's from a multi-GPU setup or not...

    Post edited by Genoil on
  • ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
    Awesome. I'll give this a try. I have a 6x Nvidia 750ti setup and now have my order in for a Radeon r9s setup.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited April 2015
    Also tested on NVidia GTX750Ti 2GB. Somehow runs with CUDA OpenCL 1.2 instead of 1.1 (CUDA 7), but performs really bad. Longer warm up time needed, highly variable results between 350-600 KH/s. What's also kind of odd is that the hash rate often is exactly 2 ^19 = 524288.
  • ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
    Ew. Well, feel better about my purchase now then.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    Hehe. I sold my R9 for other reasons than speed :). It did 15MH/s in the earlier ethash benchmarks.

    The basic workflow to get a GPU benchmark on Win64 is as follows:

    0. Have a 64-bit Windows and a GPU (NVidia / AMD)
    1. Get Visual Studio Express 2013 Desktop
    2. Get OpenCL SDK for your card (Intel won't work)
    3. Get tar (MingW) and curl for windows and add binary paths to PATH
    4. Get git and cmake
    5. Checkout latest develop branch
    6. run getstuff.bat in cpp-ethereum/extdep. If it doesn't work, fix 3.
    7. create cpp-ethereum/build and go there
    8. cmake -DETHASHCL=1 -G "Visual Studio 12 2013 Win64" ..
    9. open ethereum.sln
    10. build eth project
    11. launch with eth.exe -G -M

    Or simply download the files attached. If for some reasons it tries to benchmark against Intel OpenCL, add --opencl-platform 1 . It's a feature that I just added on my own fork.
  • darkmatterdarkmatter Member Posts: 12 mod
    I suspect r9 390x (when released) will become king - ATI > Nvidia for OpenCL
    Might be worth looking into 7970 as well.
  • ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
    7990 (not 7970) for the openCL benchmarks is superior to the r9 290, but for the price you can buy 4 r9 290s doubling your rate for the price. - http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-r9-290-review-benchmark,3659-14.html
  • ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
    @genoil - is there anything special I need to do for a multiple gpu rig for benchmark testing?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @ConradJohnson afaik you can currently only use a single GPU per instance of the client. But there is (work being done on) code that allows you to run a farm of multiple mining clients. That said, I don't see a reason why multiple GPUs per client wouldn't be possible.
  • michaelaudouxmichaelaudoux Member Posts: 3
    @Genoil What is the temperature of each of your GPU when you reach maximum speed?
  • pedrosoftpedrosoft Member Posts: 17
    I've Nvidia 845M. I tried your test... but it see only my Intel graphic card.. Is it a OpenCL problem ?... It seems that my 845m is not supported by Cuda Nvidia Software... @Genoil Could you help me ?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited April 2015
    @pedrosoft the latest develop (attached) has an option to select a different OpenCL platform. Launch it like this:

    eth.exe -G -M --opencl-platform 1

    Default platform is 0, but in some machines, the GPU OpenCL platform is 1.

    @michaelaudoux the temperature heavily depends on OC and fan settings, as well as outside temp, case air flow etc. etc. so it doesn't really make sense to post these. GPU-Z does record 99% load though.

    I also noticed that a 4-core CPU is nice to have running alongside your GPU. My home setup is a G1840 dualcore with the gtx750ti, and while mining, the system is completely unusable. so perhaps the bad scores actualy come from a cpu bottleneck. I'll see if I have time to swap out the work/home cards this week.

    And lastly a note on NVidia drivers. The latest 350 "GTA V" release has OpenCL 1.2 support. Now on my GTX 780, I also need to warm up longer, and the results are about 10% lower than with the OpenCL 1.1 drivers.
    Post edited by Genoil on
  • pedrosoftpedrosoft Member Posts: 17
    thanks @Genoil I can't find any opencl for my nvidia geforce 845m (notebook) . Could you help me ?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited April 2015
    @pedrosoft if you look here it says OpenCL 1.1 is supported on the 840m (couldn't find the 845m page). So as long as you have reasonably up to date graphics drivers, you should be fine.
  • pedrosoftpedrosoft Member Posts: 17
    thanks ! ... Preparing DAG :)
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited April 2015
    @pedrosoft cool, have some patience. Pepraring DAG takes a while but once you have it, it will be stored on disk.

    btw i just found out this client version does not mine in non-benchmark mode. if it does for you (leave out -M parameter), please let me know
  • pedrosoftpedrosoft Member Posts: 17
    edited April 2015

    this is my benchmark with a NON overclocked geforce 845m
  • pedrosoftpedrosoft Member Posts: 17
    @Genoil could you help me with overclock ?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    I wouldn't recommend you to overclock a notebook GPU. It's not not going to give you a lot of extra Hashes before it overheats. But if you understand the risks, go get MSI Afterburner, and follow one these guides
  • pedrosoftpedrosoft Member Posts: 17
Sign In or Register to comment.